Salacious B. Crumb and Why I Love Extended Star Wars Canon

Greeting sentients, humanoid and otherwise, and welcome to the Sarlacc Pit. I am very excited about this week’s post because it is one I have wanted to do ever since I first started writing these posts. This week’s post is about the great Salacious B. Crumb. Who was Salacious B. Crumb? Well friends, that’s what I’m about to tell you.

Background

Salacious 1
Salacious’ laugh was a common sound in Jabba’s palace.

Salacious B. Crumb was a Kowakian monkey-lizard who lived in Jabba’s palace during the Galactic Civil War. Crumb lived there for dozens of years protected by a unique deal with Jabba: as long as Salacious made Jabba laugh at least once a day, he could stay and eat and drink as much as he wanted, if Salacious failed to make Jabba laugh, Jabba would eat him. Most of the patrons at Jabba’s palace hated Salacious, as the best way to get Jabba to laugh was usually through causing others pain or misfortune. Salacious was present in much of Jabba’s dealings, such as when Darth Vader approached the Hutt looking for bounty hunters to assist in searching for Luke Skywalker.

Salacious and Vader
Hate all you want, Vader, but Salacious just hit his Jabba laugh quota for the day.

Salacious was present when Han Solo, Chewbacca, Leia Organa, and Luke Skywalker were taken captive, and did not hesitate to assist when the captives enacted their escape plan.

Salacious vs. 3
Salacious didn’t ask any questions, he just jumped the nearest foe and messed him up.

Sadly, the hero of today’s post died on Jabba’s sail barge after Leia strangled Jabba and her and Luke blew up the sail barge at the Pit of Carkoon. Thus ends the story of Salacious B. Crumb.

So why am I dedicating a blog post to someone who could easily be described as a footnote of “Return of the Jedi”? It’s because Salacious B. Crumb is a big reason why I am a huge fan of extended Star Wars canon, which I will explain now.

What’s In A Name?

My entire life I always referred to Salacious as “Jabba’s pet monkey-thing.” Did that mean I did not know anything about him? Not really, I knew everything I needed to know about him for the plot of the movies. However, after I learned he had a name, I became that much more interested in the character and the scene. I also realized that almost every person you see in Star Wars has a canon name. If you pick a random extra in Star Wars, chances are decent that they have a name and at least some half-planned backstory (especially if you look at Legends canon). I mean just check out Droopy McCool:

Droopy McCoo
Droopy McCool was a chindikalu flute player in the Max Rebo Band, which played regularly at Jabba’s palace.

That’s right, this random alien from Jabba’s palace had a name, even had a backstory where he used to go by the name “Snit.” I don’t know why you would try to change your name from Droopy McCool, but whatever.

Backstories Galore

Like I mentioned above, most characters, including random extras, have some kind of backstory. If you check out Wookiepedia or the Star Wars Databank, you will find all kinds of information on characters and locations that you never would have thought to ask about. I never thought to ask about Jabba’s pet monkey-thing until I learned he had a name.

Mysteries Abound

Even when you have a backstory, there is often still a lot left unanswered. How did Salacious come to Jabba’s palace? What does the B. in Salacious B. Crumb stand for? Kowakian monkey-lizards are classified as “semi-sentient,” what does that mean? These are all questions I will probably never get an answer to, but it just makes the character that much more interesting.

Jabba and Friends
I bet the B. stands for “Bad-ass.”

Conclusion

After I learned a little bit about Salacious B. Crumb, I realized that he was just one very small part of a much larger Star Wars universe. As much as there is to know about Jabba’s pet, there’s even more to know about Leia’s background, Obi-Wan Kenobi’s past, characters like Wedge Antilles and Admiral Ackbar, villains like Grand Moff Tarkin and Rae Sloan and Sheev Palpatine, whole groups of people like the Free Ryloth Movement, the Onderon Rebels, the crew of the Ghost. Star Wars is rich with interesting characters and backstories and histories and once I realized that, I started reading and watching just about anything I could get my hands on. A year later and I started the Sarlacc Pit, which has allowed me to share what I have learned with you wonderful people.

That’s all for this week’s post. I know it was really short, but there simply is not much to say about Salacious B. Crumb. He was, however, a bit of an inspiration to me so I wanted to honor him in some way. Next week’s post will be a little longer, however, as I want to do something that may interest people in reading more. Next week I am going to do a few short, spoiler-free, book reviews on the Star Wars novels I have read. So if you are looking for a new book to read, make sure to check in next week. As always, thanks for reading, and may the Force be with you!

Leave a Reply

